Book Review: A Kingsbury Collection


Title: A Kingsbury Collection (Three Novels in One)
Author: Karen Kingsburgy
Publisher: Multnomah Books
Release Date: October 2, 2012

A Kingsburgy Collection includes the three novels Where Yesterday Lives, When Joy Came to Stay and On Every Side. These are three stories with three women struggling with real world issues: mentally, emotionally and spiritually. Ms Kingsbury gives her characters a dash of reality making these novels filled with conflict to which the reader can relate.

I was really struck by the realistic quality to these stories. By far they are much grittier than most mainstream Inspirational Fiction. The characters were believable and-warning-prepare yourself to be almost emotionally invested in the story of Maggie Stovall in When Joy Came to Stay. For some reason her plight really spoke to me on a personal level.

This collection of stories is highly recommended to any fan of Karen Kingsbury as well as to anyone struggling with difficulty in life. You will find encouragement in the tribulations and triumphs as these women rediscover their faith through hardship.

A Kingsbury Collection is available at, and in paperback and ereader formats.

Disclosure in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : This book was presented to me free of charge by Multnomah Books without expectation of a positive review. The sentiments expressed here are my own.

Published by Jenn R

I write stuff and pretend to be good at crafting. Check out my first novel on Amazon:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: